Jump to content


Photo

What's going on?


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Drackir

Drackir

    Admin/Project Leader

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 02 July 2006 - 10:57 AM

Hey everyone!

So here's what's going on. As I mentioned in my previous post, the website hosting has been renewed and upgraded for another two years. I have also purchased the domain www.fondusis.com with donations kindly given by TreeHugger. I would appreciate it if everyone started using fondusis.com instead of drackir.com as eventually I want to separate the two sites. I will be converting the forums to mb.fondusis.com and make sure that mb.drackir.com links still work but you will all have to reset your cookies and report/change any links from mb.drackir.com to mb.fondusis.com. I will let you know when that happens.

As far as the game goes, storm has disappeared. I have no idea why but he just up and left which is a big set-back. I'm adding the guild system back into the game right now and then I'm going to fix the walking animations. I'm also going to get some quests put into it as examples so we can have a staff member add all of the rest of them. I have added 64x64 sprites but our sprite sheet is kinda messed up and needs to be fixed.

Our spriter .:Hill:. is gone off the face of the planet but I would like to welcome Lychee Akana to the team as a musicalist (Chris disappeared as well...hmm something strange is going on here).

The forums have been quite busy the past couple days which I like to see. I encourage everyone to come and post and get some more topics and posts in there.

I guess that's about it. I will post some more info as it comes!
~Drackir

#2 rickoshay818

rickoshay818

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Location:Maryland the great mary place...
  • Interests:KITTY!

Posted 02 July 2006 - 12:16 PM

What do you mean uh...er...Hill has been wiped off the planet...do you mean... :devil: O:-) And hi new musicanist.(Don't tell them i'm nine)
...Tehe.

#3 Moose

Moose

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 612 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 03 July 2006 - 02:03 AM

hah sounds like most of the project team has deserted fondusis. lol. sorta suks aye? im sure they'll all be back when the game is actully done. hehe. :P
Posted Image

#4 rickoshay818

rickoshay818

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Location:Maryland the great mary place...
  • Interests:KITTY!

Posted 03 July 2006 - 07:04 AM

Yup they'll be at our feet when they see how good it is.
...Tehe.

#5 Caseyweederman

Caseyweederman

    Moderator/Corridors of Time Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 July 2006 - 06:11 AM

I'm still begging for a private beta! I would of course be willing to hook up *shudder* the Wind*ws *shudder* box to the innernets (or heck, download on Linux and burn onto a CD, that could work but I'd need the server too?) to play the game.

I won't tell anyone else! It will be our secret.

Again the question is begged whether or not the Wind*ws box is man enough to run it, but it can run Final Fantasy VII just super, and it's not like you're messing with 3d rendering, right? I keep forgetting to check when I'm at home.

sum day ill eat ur cat ricko...


#6 Drackir

Drackir

    Admin/Project Leader

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 04 July 2006 - 09:26 AM

You will get a beta when I say you get a beta! It's not ready yet and we are suffering set-backs due to missing staff members (sux!) so give us time to work things out. :)

#7 Faselei

Faselei

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 230 posts

Posted 05 July 2006 - 03:50 AM

Sad to hear about the staff setbacks. Thankfully the most important staff member remains! The coder! You cant replace the coder easily.

I'm sure if you ask, your forum spamming freinds will be happy to help out.

Don't post here ever again.

Posted Image

#8 Caseyweederman

Caseyweederman

    Moderator/Corridors of Time Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 July 2006 - 07:07 AM

No, I think the coder is also on hiatus until further notice. :D :lol:

And hey, does my attempt at fixing the graphics make me staff?
I think I know how to fix it now. It's just that it was all crazy and wtf and not sensical. It will just be one of those time consuming things.

Hang on, can I have the original? I can always resize that so it doesn't... you know, suck. What was the problem with that in the first place?

And I can hook you up with some high quality open licence music. I gots connections, you know?

sum day ill eat ur cat ricko...


#9 rickoshay818

rickoshay818

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Location:Maryland the great mary place...
  • Interests:KITTY!

Posted 05 July 2006 - 04:08 PM

Nalyid seems to not being very active any more when he used to be so active he was just about spamming the fourms!!!!! :lol:
...Tehe.

#10 Drackir

Drackir

    Admin/Project Leader

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 05 July 2006 - 09:27 PM

No, I think the coder is also on hiatus until further notice. :D :lol:

And hey, does my attempt at fixing the graphics make me staff?
I think I know how to fix it now. It's just that it was all crazy and wtf and not sensical. It will just be one of those time consuming things.

Hang on, can I have the original? I can always resize that so it doesn't... you know, suck. What was the problem with that in the first place?

And I can hook you up with some high quality open licence music. I gots connections, you know?

I am not on haitus. I added guilds back into the game over the past few days. And if you want the graphics they are all half sized and in separate files per each sprite. I can send them to you but I hope you have a zipping program! As for the music, well...find me some free stuff for now and then when Lychee alives I'll get her to make some stuff.

#11 Faselei

Faselei

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 230 posts

Posted 06 July 2006 - 06:00 AM

Music, bleh. Nick a load of Midis.
The maps done right? Most of the coding is done, true? The sprites are all set, huh? Well give us a beta...

If you need a hand, just give a shout, im sure theres a few round here who would happy to help.

Don't post here ever again.

Posted Image

#12 Caseyweederman

Caseyweederman

    Moderator/Corridors of Time Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 July 2006 - 07:45 AM

Sure, send me the sprites. I'll work my magiks.

sum day ill eat ur cat ricko...


#13 Drackir

Drackir

    Admin/Project Leader

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 06 July 2006 - 09:28 AM

Music, bleh. Nick a load of Midis.
The maps done right? Most of the coding is done, true? The sprites are all set, huh? Well give us a beta...

If you need a hand, just give a shout, im sure theres a few round here who would happy to help.

Maps are not done, only the world map. Coding is nowhere near done but it will never be done completely until I give up. And the sprites are a mess right now haha. I have someone who is helping with sprites in exchange for some programming help but who knows if that will last (I haven't had good luck with spriters).

We also have to add in the quests and such and I don't want to be one of those stupid games that never gets out of Beta *cough*Deloria*cough* so I'm waiting. Beta is going to be a real beta that's for testing not just so some ppl can play.

#14 rickoshay818

rickoshay818

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Location:Maryland the great mary place...
  • Interests:KITTY!

Posted 17 July 2006 - 09:32 AM

yup can't wait till beta testers get chosen hope its me!
...Tehe.

#15 Caseyweederman

Caseyweederman

    Moderator/Corridors of Time Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 July 2006 - 10:27 AM

Man, don't wound me so. I don't just want the beta so I can play, I want it so I can genuinely help. I would truly appreciate the ability to break any game that you made down into its integral parts and then tell you how I did it.

There was a time when my dream job was to be a videogame tester. I guess it still is, in many ways.

Heck, I test games all the time. I'm just not paid for it, and the programmers don't benefit from my artistic breaking.
I've broken Oblivion a few times.
There was this one time...
One of those three-feathered goblins or whatever, up in the mountains, spawned inside a rock. Very entertaining. The spawn point for an arrow from a bow is at the frontmost part of the bow. The monster's bow outreached his own boundaries. Thus he remained inside the rock, but was able to shoot outwards.
I consider this to be a flaw, because it means that they did not take into account (or didn't want to) the concept of a wielded weapon with no boundaries exceeding the boundaries of the entity (in this case, the orc-thing).
Also, another thing that confuses me about Oblivion is this. Ranged units will used ranged weapons until they enter within a certain radius of you. At this point, they will whip out a dagger and attack you melee style. However, if they leave this close proximity (ie you run away), shouldn't they be expected to again use their bow? No... Apparently not. As soon as they enter melee mode, they'll stick to it until they die.

I'm the kind of guy who plays Halo and spends hours trying to scale the terrain and cross boundaries. Yes, that's right, there are no true boundaries in Halo. They are all passable.

Games are a challenge to me. I have to destroy them.

That is all.

sum day ill eat ur cat ricko...


#16 rickoshay818

rickoshay818

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Location:Maryland the great mary place...
  • Interests:KITTY!

Posted 17 July 2006 - 12:28 PM

I like the glitches and stuff but nevcer knew halo didn't have boundries thats cool. =:-} :biggrin:
...Tehe.

#17 Caseyweederman

Caseyweederman

    Moderator/Corridors of Time Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 July 2006 - 12:40 PM

Oh, it does, they just aren't very good. You can always jump over them, or, if you're going fast enough, fly right through them.

sum day ill eat ur cat ricko...


#18 rickoshay818

rickoshay818

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Location:Maryland the great mary place...
  • Interests:KITTY!

Posted 17 July 2006 - 03:09 PM

Huh lol you think top speed on a banchee would do it?
...Tehe.

#19 Caseyweederman

Caseyweederman

    Moderator/Corridors of Time Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 July 2006 - 03:32 PM

Nope. Not a chance. However, if you park a vehicle (try Scorpion tank) just right on a busted plasma shield and waited for the shield to regenerate, you may notice that the tank shoots straight up in the air and ludicrous speeds. Spinning madly.

Now try it again but stand on it.

This is assuming multiplayer.

sum day ill eat ur cat ricko...


#20 rickoshay818

rickoshay818

    Fondusian

  • Beta Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • Location:Maryland the great mary place...
  • Interests:KITTY!

Posted 17 July 2006 - 05:27 PM

Huh lol never knew that thanks for the glitch
...Tehe.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users